Hi everyone!  So I am very excited about starting this blog (My journey as a Christian woman) Soooo excited, that I am awake at 12:00 AM writing it.  I should be sleeping, I have to wake up early to drop off kids at daycare.

Anyways, (I just had to run upstairs because my son started yelling for me… I’m out of breath… ijs) Now, where was I?  Oh yeah, super excited.  For my first blog I will be giving just a little background of who I am and where I have come from, if that’s okay with you? 

I was born and raised in a military, Christian home, mainly Pentecostal.  I lived in Central America for many years and was taught Christianity by the standards of a Latin American Pentecostal church.  Examples what I was taught were and are not limited to: I could not wear jewelry, I could not cut or dye my hair, I could not shave my legs (lol), I could not drink alcohol, I could not date unless it was for marriage, I could not dance, I could not wear pants or shorts or a bathing suit (the stories I have are priceless! I will definitely share these stories at another time).  I was taught the bible but I was never taught how to study the bible.  These are just a few of things I encountered in my early years as a Christian.  This list is very overwhelming.  I am not saying that it’s right or wrong but when given all these rules, I felt unprepared, imperfect and downright burdened.  It might seem silly now but as a preteen to have to abide by these rules, it was very stressful. There came a time in my life where I felt like all these rules were suffocating me, so I left the church.  Forward many years later and I am married, have two amazing smart boys and am active in the church community.  Through this blog you will see a glimpse of what a Christian woman’s life is like.  It’s not perfect, it’s not easy and it’s lonely sometimes.  Till next post! Thanks for reading.

 

3 thoughts on “And in the beginning… JK

  1. A- I felt the same way about the religion I was born into…Catholicism. My parents grew up Catholic, were married Catholic and still are Catholic. When I would attend church and CCD classes at the Catholic Church I was sooooo confused and never understood. I felt so out of place. Then when I was 14 my friend brought me to her baptist church and I literally felt the holy spirit almost immediately and everything just made sense, so happy to have made the transition.

    Like

Leave a Reply

